Buckle Up: What About the Law?
Primary seat belt law in MT?
At this time, Montana does not have a primary seat belt law. However, no other traffic law change has the potential to save as many lives as seat belt enforcement. Although about 80 percent of Montana motorists already buckle up regularly, the 20 percent who don't account for three out of four traffic deaths.
Every year that Montana treats seat belts as a second-class statute, motorists will ignore the law and all Montanans will suffer the consequences in higher taxes and insurance premiums.
Read more about this important issue:
"No other traffic law change has the potential to save as many lives..."