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The Traffic Education 
programs carry out the state 
laws and rules governing state-
approved driver education on 
behalf of the Superintendent of 
Public Instruction.



Traffic Education instructors are in 

high demand!

• In 2019, Montana had 340 state-approved, actively teaching traffic 

education teachers.  In 2021, that number dropped to 300.

• Some school districts are not able to offer the course due to the lack 

of traffic educators.

• In 2020, 125 school districts offered traffic education and 7,382 

students completed the course. This number was down due to the 

COVID-19 pandemic.  The average is 8,500-9,000 teens completing a 

driver education course during a school year.

• About 12,000 Montana teens are eligible to take driver education 

each year. To be eligible, they must be at least 14.5 and less than 19 

years old by the course completion date.



CDTP – Cooperative Driver Testing          

Program

The Cooperative Driver Testing Program (CDTP) is a partnership 
between the OPI Traffic Education Program and the Department of 
Justice (61-5-110, MCA).   

CDTP authorizes 300 trained and certified OPI driver education 
instructors to administer the written test for a learner’s license and 
to conduct the driving skills test on behalf of the DOJ Motor Vehicle 
Division, thereby reducing costs for both the DOJ and families with 
new drivers.

Recently the written and/or road tests were waived for 8,127 young 
drivers who started supervised practice driving and did not have to 
re-take the tests at driver license stations.  MVD driver examiners 
retest 10 percent of the road test-waived students for quality and 
consistency.



TEEN DRIVER CURRICULUM
http://opi.mt.gov/Curriculum

*Anyone may download files from OPI website. Tests are excluded from the online 
curriculum :)

http://opi.mt.gov/Curriculum


Traffic Education Resources 



Preferred Traffic Education Resources



Traffic Education Meeting And Handouts



TRAFFIC EDUCATION DATA

http://gems.opi.mt.gov



YRBS: Youth Risk Behavior Survey
http://opi.mt.gov/YRBS

http://opi.mt.gov/YRBS


GDL: Graduated Driver Licensing

• Enacted by the Montana State Legislature in 2005; in effect in 

2006. All 50 states have a GDL program.

• Provides a phased-in, gradual development of driving skill with 

supervision, toward greater responsibility and independence.

• Requires drivers under age 18 with a learner license to drive with 

adult supervision.

• Step 1: Must log at least 50 hours of driving, 10 at night, for a 

minimum of six months.

• Step 2: Restricted License (must be 15 years old) – Valid for one 

year or until age 18.  Passenger and curfew restrictions. 



GDL: Graduated Driver Licensing

GDL makes a positive difference!



Traffic Education Events

• Montana Teen Driver Safety Day, every third Tuesday in 

October.

• Montana Traffic Education Spring Conference, Montana 

Traffic Education Association – MTEAOnline.org

• Montana DRIVE One-Day Summer Workshops





OPI’s MONTANA DRIVE PROGRAM

• Montana DRIVE one-day summer workshops on track in 
Lewistown since 1979.

• Drivers practice vehicle control skills behind-the-wheel 
with  professional instructors to keep their vehicle in 
balance and respond safely to driving risks.

• State Farm insurance grants support Montana DRIVE 
teen scholarships in July. 



MONTANA DRIVE WORKSHOPS

• All types of drivers attend the summer workshops: school bus drivers; ambulance 
and fire truck drivers; state, federal and municipal employees; heavy truck and 
transit bus drivers; driver ed teachers, individuals, and teens (Teen Week in July).

• More than 16,000 drivers have taken the workshop since 1979.

• Teachers can earn one college credit from MSUN when they take the workshop, 
stay an extra day to student teach, and write a paper.

http://montanadrive.mt.gov

http://montanadrive.mt.gov/




Thank you!

OPI Traffic Education Office
dwight.nelson@mt.gov

406-444-4396

mailto:dwight.nelson@mt.gov

