Bridge Failure - all overweight loads will need to get alternate routing:
Effective Immediately: I-15 (south of Butte) between milepost 118 and 119 there is a failed culvert. The bridge is being closed to all overweight loads will be one lane traffic for both Northbound and Southbound.
If you are traveling on this route or have questions/concerns, please call MCS at 406-444-7262 for alternate routing. This will impact all overweight loads (Single Trip Permit, Term Permit).
MDT does not have enough information to say how long the restriction will be in place.
Bridge Failure - 12-foot width restriction on US-2 near Chinook MT:
Due to a bridge failure, there will be a 12-foot width restriction in place and no overweight vehicles on US-2 between MP405 and MP406 over Lodge Creek near Chinook, MT.
MDT does not have enough information to say how long the restriction will be in place. Please use alternate routing.
Permit Issuance Change:
Wyoming will no longer sell Montana permits as of October 1, 2023.
Montana will no longer sell Idaho permits as of December 1, 2023.
FMCSA TIN/EIN Changes: At this time, please direct these inquiries to the FMCSA Customer Insurance and Registration Information Support (CIRIS) Contact Center at 1-800-832-5660 or on-line at https://ask.fmcsa.dot.gov/. Requests to make changes must also include a signed and dated MCS-150 from the carrier.
Executive Orders from the Office of the Governor: https://governor.mt.gov/executive-orders
Diesel Fuel Users: Please be advised that the National and State Covid-19 Emergency Declaration does not include the ability to use non-taxed diesel fuel (dyed diesel) in motor vehicles traveling on public roads and highways. Using dyed diesel on Montana roadways could result in a penalty not to exceed $1,000.00 for a first offense and $5,000.00 for a second offense.
USDOT Number updates: needed for Intrastate and Interstate carriers, this is a free service that is done by FMCSA and MCS/MDT. Please be advised to fully vet and use due diligence when using third-party services. For further information, please visit the FMCSA Page. For further questions, contact our MCSAP Section at 406-444-3300.
Federal regulations require all states to verify payment of, or exemption from the tax before issuing or renewing vehicle registrations. Before a vehicle is registered, the owner must provide proof the IRS Form 2290 has been filed. This is done at the time of licensing at the county or in MCS when registering under the IRP.
MCS is also now requesting that IRS Form 2290 be provided at the time of issuance of a GVW Fee Permit when the weight is at 55,000 lbs or greater.
Visit our document on how to how to upload an IRS HVUT-Form 2290 and/or a County Registration in the ePART GVW Web Processing.
Acceptable formats of the IRS Form 2290
- Acceptable IRS Form 2290’s / HVUT has the IRS Watermark on it.
- If the user does not have the IRS Watermark on their Form 2290, then a copy of the IRS Form 2290 along with the payment receipt or a copy of the cancelled check needs to be submitted.
- A copy of the IRS Form 2290 with a manual stamp if it was not e-filed.
Want to learn more about the HVUT – Form 2290?
Visit the IRS Form Page
Need to e-file your IRS Form 2290?
Visit the e-file Form 2290 Page
Choose a Payment Option
You must already have an account to e-file, or you may enroll to get an account set-up.
- NEW. Pay Your Taxes by Credit or Debit Card. You can pay by internet, phone or mobile device.
- Electronic Funds Withdrawal. You can authorize a direct debit as part of the e-file process.
- Electronic Federal Tax Payment System (EFTPS). You must be pre-enrolled; be sure to allow 5-7 business days to get enrolled for a new account.
If you are not e-filing, a list of the approved IRS e-file providers for HVUT can be found at the link below.
This site linked below is for the FAQs for Truckers Who e-file
FAQs for Truckers Who e-file
This site link below is for general information regarding the IRS Form 2290
General information regarding the Form 2290.
More information about HVUT